HomeBoat InsuranceNew boating safety education course and safety report

New boating safety education course and safety report

SARASOTA, Fla. (WWSB) – Anyone born on or after January 1, 1988, must have a Boating Safety Education ID Card to legally operate a boat in Florida.

The U.S. Coast Guard recently published their 2023 safety report.

Nationally, 75% of boat operator deaths, the operator did not have a safe boating class. Florida is 83%.

Manatee Sail and Power Squadron is offering an 9-hour course at the Palmetto Library on Saturday, July 20 from 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. which continues the following Saturday, July 27 at the same times.

The course will teach boat operators the following skills:

  • Information about Florida Boating Laws, regulations, boat registration, and licensing.
  • Required boating safety equipment.
  • The Dos and Don’ts of boating safety.
  • Practical knowledge of navigation and rules of the waterways.
  • How to manage medical emergencies and mechanical problems on the water.
  • The basics of towing and trailering.
  • Special important information for hunters, anglers, and sports enthusiasts.

The boating course aims to reduce the risk of accidents and injuries, help save money on boat insurance, and qualify individuals for a Florida Boating Safety Education Identification Card.

The Power Squadron will give out a certificate of completion on the final day and the Florida Fish and Wildlife will mail students a Boating Safety Card.

The course costs $30 cash or check. A textbook is included with the price.

Same family couples may share a textbook and only need to pay one registration fee.

Payment and registration deadline is July 18, 2024. 

Register here or contact Larry Beverage at lyb204@gmail.com or 941-518-3971.

Source link

latest articles

explore more